Scribe Award 2020 winners announced

Many congrats to Pat Cadigan, whose movie tie-in, Alita: Battle Angel, has won the 2020 Scribe Award for best adapted novel.





Editorial Director Bella Pagan has acquired world rights for SHARDS OF EARTH and its two sequels from Simon Kavanagh of the Mic Cheetham Agency. The books will be published under the Tor imprint in the UK. Orbit will publish the trilogy in the United States and the books were bought by senior editor Brit E. B. Hvide.

Adrian Tchaikovsky says of the deal:  ‘I am absolutely delighted to launch this new space opera. I had a blast writing the first volume and I’m looking forward to everywhere the series is going to go.’

Bella Pagan commented, ‘Adrian is at the top of his game when it comes telling an incredible story. And this new book will wow his readers. It has all the amazing plotting, wonderful characters and big ideas that we’ve come to love from his work.’

SHARDS OF EARTH will be published in spring 2021. Tchaikovsky’s next book is THE DOORS OF EDEN, publishing on 20th August this year.



The new novel by M. John Harrison 

Available from Gollancz, The Sunken Land Begins to Rise Again on 25th June 2020.



Congratulations to Adrian Tchaikovsky, whose book, Children of Ruin, has scooped this year’s BSFA best novel award.


A human outpost lying derelict in space, the scout ship that discovers it, and a planet best left unexplored… 

The award winning sequel to Children of Time.

Available from Pan Macmillan.




Filled with drama and battle, tragedy and romance, Sharon Penman’s The Land Beyond the Sea tells the epic tale of a clash of cultures during the 12th century.

Available now from Pan Macmillan

“Penman has created a saga of epic proportions. She has given us insight into the inner workings of the minds of the great men and women of the time.”

-Historical Novel Society 

“Sharon Kay Penman is the strongest historical novelist working the medieval period at present”

-George RR Martin











Congrats to M. John Harrison, whose seminal SF novel LIGHT has been selected as one of The Guardian’s 100 best books of the 21st century






Antony Sher’s diary of playing Lear in the 2016 RSC production of King Lear, YEAR OF THE MAD KING has been voted 2019 Theatre Book of the Year by the Society of Theatre Research at the Prince of Wales Theatre.

The book, illustrated by the author, is published by Nick Hern Books. As are two previous diaries THE YEAR OF THE KING (Sher’s account of playing Richard III for the RSC, 1984) and YEAR OF THE FAT KNIGHT (Falstaff in the RSC’s Henry IV parts 1&2, in 2014)